Category Archives: Comic Art

A Hawkeye & Mockingbird Moment: P-p-p-pym Particles!

Advertisements

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comics, David Lopez, Hawkeye, Heroic Age, Jim McCann, Marvel Comics, Mockingbird, The Heroic Age | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Gorak — Mystic Eunuch!

Checking out recent digitals on Marvel.com, I came across this Steve Ditko classic. And, while admiring his incredible art, I noticed that our buddy Gorak the Mystic is extraordinary powerful … but not so great on aim. Ouch! That bolt on the … Continue reading

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Marvel Comics, Steve Ditko | Tagged , | 3 Comments

Move over Cap and Sharon …

Sorry it’s been a few days. Needed to take some important family time. Enjoy.

Posted in Avengers, Captain America, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, David Lopez, Hawkeye, Heroic Age, Jim McCann, Marvel Comics, Mockingbird, The Heroic Age | Tagged , , , , | 7 Comments

Why I Love Marvel Comics: What If …? #29

Look at this … just look at it! The greatest action figure collection … EVA’! Come on. Be honest. You are soooo jealous of the Scarlet Centurion right now.

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Marvel Comics, The Heroic Age | Tagged , | 3 Comments

A.I.M. High ~ Bad Day on the Cutting Edge of Science

Posted in A.I.M. High, AIM, Comic Art, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Marvel Comics, MODOK | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

That’s Marvel BadAss! ~ Jim McCann

 So, for fans of Hawkeye and Mockingbird … it’s about to be Christmas. The new Hawkeye & Mockingbird series by Jim McCann and David Lopez debuts in June, and the Marvel PR machine is gearing up to make it a … Continue reading

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, David Lopez, Hawkeye, Heroic Age, Jim McCann, Marvel Comics, Mockingbird, The Heroic Age | Tagged , , , , , , | 4 Comments

He’s got the bow. She quivers.

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, David Lopez, Hawkeye, Heroic Age, Jim McCann, Marvel Comics, Mockingbird, The Heroic Age | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

That’s Marvel BadAss! ~ Marcio Takara

I’m not the world’s foremost believer on fate, but today … I’m a convert. Several weeks ago, I interviewed Marcio Takara, a Brazilian illustrator living in Canada. He is currently penciling The Incredibles for Boom! I had found his “Tiny … Continue reading

Posted in Avengers, Captain America, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, DC Comics, Hawkeye, Heroic Age, Marvel Comics | 4 Comments

Random Acts of Badassery! – Katie Cook

We didn’t buy nearly enough original art on our visit to C2E2 in Chicago, but two of our most favorite are these tiny sketches we picked up for just $5 apiece from the amazing Katie Cook (who drew Wonder Woman … Continue reading

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Katie Cook, Marvel Comics, The Thing | 1 Comment

A.I.M. High – Season 2 ~ Mirror, Mirror!

Last year, I had a great time with my Kirby-Inspired Komic, A.I.M. High. And, ya’ll were really kind about it. It’s been a while. So, we’ll start with a little tribute to “Star Trek.” And, in case you missed it … Continue reading

Posted in A.I.M. High, AIM, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Jack Kirby, Marvel Comics, MODOK | 3 Comments

The Long, Hairy Arm of Communism

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Hawkeye, Heroic Age, Marvel Comics, Mockingbird, The Heroic Age | 2 Comments

That’s Marvel BadAss! ~ Dean Trippe!

If you’ve spent any time looking at fan created art on the Internet, I’m hard-pressed to believe you haven’t come across … and be struck by … the incredible work of Dean Trippe, an illustrator who lives in The O.C. … Continue reading

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics | Tagged , | 3 Comments

“M” is for Marvelous Mockingbird …

It’s a great time to be a Mockinbird fan. She is kicking ass and looking gorgeous doing it. And, folks are coming out of the woodwork to draw here. Like our pal, Ryan Cody of Daily Sketchjam, who is drawing … Continue reading

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Hawkeye, Heroic Age, Marvel Comics, Mockingbird, The Heroic Age | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

That’s Marvel BadAss! – Ryan Cody

Thanks to the boys at Comic TWART, I added Daily Sketchjam to my list of daily Internet meanderings, and it’s there I became enamored of the work of Ryan Cody. Every day, Ryan shares his take on a wide array … Continue reading

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Ryan Cody | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

The tempting Tigra …

Marvel.com released New Avengers: The Reunion #2 on digital comics today. And, it reminded me of an important truth.  No one should ever draw Tigra again except David Lopez … like, ever. ‘Nuff said.

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, David Lopez, Heroic Age, Marvel Comics, The Heroic Age | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Lo! There Shall Be an Interview!

So, it’s good to have goals, right? Well, I have a new one for our modest little blog here. I am bound and determined to achieve it. And, I need your help. Here it is: By hook or by crook, I … Continue reading

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Marvel Comics | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Unglablitch! Nightcrawler by David Lopez!

Mein gott! My daughters, Grace and Cate, and I got an awesome gift all the way from Spain … a 5 Minute Marvel sketch of Nightcrawler from Hawkeye & Mockingbird artist, David Lopez, and an invitation to draw with him. … Continue reading

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, David Lopez, DC Comics, Hawkeye, Marvel Comics, Mockingbird, X-Men | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Yellowjacket + Carlos Pacheco = Bad Ass

Avengers Forever is a personal favorite. And, there are many, many memorable panels. But, I always gravitate to this one. I never loved the Yellowjacket character before this series. But, after … well … I can’t wait for Hank Pym … Continue reading

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Marvel Comics | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Crouching Moe, Hidden Curly …

And, now … a word from Hawk and Mock …

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Hawkeye, Marvel Comics, Mockingbird, The Heroic Age | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

Tony Stark Rockin’ a Casio & Tigra Grows a Tail

It’s no secret that West Coast Avengers is my favorite comic series of all time. Not the best. Not my most respected. Favorite. It was kooky and obsessed with Marvel history and not afraid to be totally bat shit crazy. … Continue reading

Posted in Avengers, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Iron Man, Marvel Comics, The Heroic Age | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Why I Love Marvel Comics: Rawhide Kid #22

Why do I love Marvel Comics? Just three little words: The Terrible Totem! I have always had a soft spot for Marvel’s old Western comics. And, this week, the good folks over at Marvel.com released Rawhide Kid #22,with one of … Continue reading

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Illustration, Comics, Marvel Comics | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

Puttin’ on the Ritz! Dapper Men Teaser

Okay, we’re all in agreement … I’m an unabashed Jim McCann fan, right? Right. So why wouldn’t I be jazzed about the new teaser image that emerged this week! Yee-haw! Click here for an interview with Jim.

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

That’s Marvel BadAss! ~ Week 17 ~ Steve Downer

While cruising the ol’ Interweb! a few weeks ago looking for a great pic of Paste Pot Pete– one of my favorite and most bizarre Kirby Kreations, I found a kindred spirit in Steve Downer, an illustrator and colorist is … Continue reading

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, DC Comics, Marvel Comics | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Sasquatch comments on the Guardians of the Globe PR campaign

Now, Mr. Walter Langkowski (AKA Sasquatch of Alpha Flight) is too much of a gentleman to out-and-out accuse the new Guardians of the Globe (whose ad campaign already feels a little familiar) of plagarism, but … he ain’t too happy.

Posted in Alpha Flight, Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comics, Marvel Comics | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

That’s Marvel BadAss! ~ Week Sixteen ~ Marc Basile!

Several weeks ago, I featured the pop-art stylings of artist Marc Basile on That’s Marvel BadAss! Marc was kind enough to reach out for a thank you and we agreed upon an interview. I was excited as I am obviously … Continue reading

Posted in Comic Art, Comic Book Humor, Comic Books, Comic Illustration, Comics, Jack Kirby, Marvel Comics | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments